QWOC (ongoing project)


Earlier this year, I began a project with the main intention of making it a submission for the Queer Women Of Color Conference, held every year in Philadelphia by Elements. To my surprise & delight my submission was accepted.
So I began photographing and briefly interviewing QWOC that I know to get started. Before I knew it, I was getting people from all over participating. So many. that I still have a long list of women to go. So I decided to continue this project. Over the next year, I will continue to photgraph and interview Queer women of color to satisfy my personal quest to tell the world what we are all about. To tell our stories, so the world may see that we are not one dimensional. We come in all shades & sizes. We all have dreams, hopes, and inspirations. We are each as unique as individual diamonds.

I thank the women who participated thus far and I encourage more to reach out to keep this project going. I hope to eventually turn it into a book or perhaps another conference submission. Maybe even my gallery show in the spring. If you would like to participate, please send an email to jesanschez@gmail.com or visit http://www.facebook.com/JSanschez

Leave a Reply

